Janina San Miguel: Strong!

Janina San Miguel has won the crown for Binibining Pilipinas Miss World 2008. A lot of people are contesting her victory.  For those who don’t know what I am blabbering about, just watch this Q & A portion  

Transcript

Vivian Tan: The question is, what role did your family play to you as candidate to Binibining Pilinas?

Janina San Miguel: Well, my family’s role for me is so important b’coz there was the wa- they’re, they was the one who’s… very… Hahahaha… Oh I’m so sorry, Ahhmm… My pamily… My family… Oh my god.. I’m… Ok, I’m so sorry… I… I told you that I’m so confident… Eto, Ahhmm, Wait… Hahahaha, Ahmmm, Sorry guys because this was really my first pageant ever b’coz I’m only 17 years old and ahahaha I, I did not expect that I came from, I came from one of the top 10. Hmmm, so… but I said that my family is the most important persons in my life. Thank you 

You laughed, didn’t you?Upon watching the video, I pitied and praised her. She sucked big time in Q & A and it was funny, but I didn’t see a stupid woman. I saw a sweet girl who courageously fought her way to the top. A brave girl who was not afraid to stand side by side with contestants from other so-called “good schools”. A humble girl who was not afraid to make mistakes and to apologize. A strong girl that defied the booing of the audience.

Why did Janina win? She got the crown after winning the two major awards re: Best in Swimsuit and Best in Long Gown. Any normal kid would understand 2 over 3 is bigger than 1 over 3.

Before you write insulting comments and call her stupid in YouTube or other forums:You better be sure that:

You can speak English without stammering in front of thousands of booing Filipinos.

Write your comment in English, please.

The Philippines is the 3d largest English-speaking nation in the world. Enough of the exaggeration. A normal Filipino uses Filipino language in his/her daily routine. Not all the 87 million Filipinos speak English. The Philippines is the 11th most populous country in the world and that is not a hyperbole.

This is the trend in the Philippines. Laughing at other people’s grammatical errors. No wonder Filipinos are scared of speaking English. We are good in writing, listening and reading, but not in speaking. However, terms like cono, sosi, sosyal, maarte are some of those brands you will earn from narrow-minded people when you speak perfect English.

What will it be?  

Explore posts in the same categories: Blitzkrieg, Lament

21 Comments on “Janina San Miguel: Strong!”

  1. liza Says:

    alam mo this true, maraming pinoys na magaling magsulat pero takot magsalita ng english, ewan ko ba bakit ganito ang kinamulatan ng mga pinoys.

    happy tuesday!

  2. Anino Says:

    Totoo! Kapag Ingles kalabaw,pagtatawanan,kapag magaling sa Ingles at may kasamang accent, maarte o cono!

  3. bomberoking Says:

    i agree..!
    that is exactky how i feel for janina too..!
    poor girl..!
    she shouldn’t take all the blame..!
    thatnks for defending the poor lass..!🙂

  4. Pinoysrock! Says:

    Liza, thanks for dropping by. I have added your blogsite to my blogroll. We watch English movies. We listen to English songs.We read English novels and newspaper,but we are afaraid to speak English and commit mistakes.

    Anino, many CSRs speak good English on the telephone,but it is a different situation when it comes to face to face conversation.

    Bomberoking, I am glad to know that we share the same sentiments.

  5. liza Says:

    hi! thanks for adding me, i have added you as well. take care.


  6. hi there. tnx 4 vsitin my site. xlink… sure… msg me… tnx

  7. bluedreamer Says:

    alam mo nakakita na rin ako ng ganitong post sa isang blog
    ang tanong ay kung deserving nga ba daw si janina
    and i say yes pero di ko inaasahang napakadaming magrereact ng masama hehe
    sabi nila nakakahiya daw na si janina ang magrerepresent ng bansa natin
    pero di ba mas nakakahiya na imbes na suportahan natin si janina eh we try to bring her down “crab mentality”….grabe di na siguro maaalis sa pinoy ang ugaling ito
    we must give a chance for janina
    ganda ng post mo thanks for dropping to in my site

  8. Anino Says:

    Sang-ayon ako sa sinabi ni Bluedreamer, Barefoot at BomberoKing dahil ka-bloglink ko sila.

  9. SWEETPEA Says:

    added this blog in my blogroll part 2…don’t forget mine please…buss me.

  10. Couen Golez Says:

    I do not understand why people continue to make a big deal out of her answer in the pageant. Instead of lambasting Janina why do not we show her our support so that she would have the confidence, and finally wins the Miss World crown.

    Filipinos are uberfond of undermining flaws especially when it comes to the use of the English language. How dare we become judgmental if we, ourselves are not spontaneous. DAH!

  11. Pinoy Says:

    Liza and Barefoot Alchemist, thanks for the visit.I have linked your site already.

    Anino, thanks for the visit.

    Sweetpea,I have linked yorus as well.

    Bluedreamer, the Q & A portion is only 20 percent,the remaining whopping 80 percent is for beauty and personality which Janina has.

    Couen,EXACTLY!

  12. mapi Says:

    nayayabangan talaga ko kay janina. bago pa sana sya pumasok sa patimpalak, sana inalam na nya ang kahinaan nya. wala namang masamang magkamali, magkagayunman hindi na sana nya pinilit ang sarili nya na makapag salita ng ingles sa harap ng maraming tao. kung tawanan man sya at ikahiya, kasalanan din nya yun. dahil bilang isang kalahok, may pagkukulang din sya. ano bang nakakahiya sa pagsasalita ng tagalog? hindi ibig sabihin na hindi ka marunong mag ingles eh bobo na. bakit kailangan pa nyang gumawa ng mga palusot sa sarili nyang pagkakamali? hindi padramahan ang patimpalak na binibining pilipinas.

  13. Pinoy Says:

    Mapi,thanks for the visit!
    Everyone has weaknesses and strengths. Yes, Janina knew that she was weak in Q & A, but she still joined the pagent. Maybe because she didn’t allow her weakness to hinder her from becoming a beauty queen.
    She could have used the Filipino Language.,though. We have an agreeance in that matter.

  14. mapi Says:

    no prob! hehe. thanks for the drop in my blog too.😉

  15. Couen Golez Says:

    salamat sa pagadd sa akin. and thanks, too, for promoting the contest on your blog.

  16. Pinoy Says:

    Mapi, thanks!

    Couen, your welcome.

  17. KRIS CANIMO Says:

    given the reasons to uplift her however, she shouldve answered more ‘sensibly’ .
    buti nga hindi tinanong ni ms tan na ” may mali ba sa tanong ko?” hahah

  18. greks Says:

    tama ka! check mo site ko my post ako titled recent post!

  19. Tyrone Says:

    Meron kayang another Janina San Miguel this coming Bb. Pilipinas? lol

  20. Pinoyrocks! Says:

    Hopefully, Aspiring candidates have learnt a lesson or two from that incident.


Leave a Reply

